BJP suffer huge blow as SP & BSP win big in UP bypoll elections.


BJP suffer huge blow as SP & BSP win big in UP bypoll elections.

Thee Samajwadi & Bahujan Samaj Party’s “Gathbandan” handed BJP a crushing defeat in Phulpur Lok Sabha bypoll seat as SP candidate Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel registered a resounding win over BJP’s Kaushlendra Singh Patel by a margin of 59,613 votes.

The Akhilesh Yadav-led SP is also in the driver’s seat in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypoll, with latest trends showing the SP ahead by over 22,000 votes in CM Yogi Adityanath’s bastion. In Gorakhpur, Praveen Nishad of SP is leading by 22,954 votes with 3,77,146 votes, while BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla is at second spot with 3,54,192 votes after 25th round of counting.

Meanwhile, controversy erupted in Gorakhpur after there were reports that the media was barred from entering the counting centre. There was ruckus in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly leading to temporary adjournment. However, an ECI official said the media was being briefed personally by the DM after each round’s progress.

The voter turnout was 47.45 per cent in Gorakhpur and 37.39 per cent in Phulpur in Sunday’s polling. The bypolls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively following their election to the state legislative council. Adityanath has represented Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha five times.

Congress yet again failed.

On the verdict of the Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha bypolls, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath said ” We accept the verdict of the people, this result is unexpected, we will review the shortcomings. I congratulate the winning candidates,” said Adityanath.

With the 2019 elections around the corner this result is a major setback for BJP however it could be a blessing in disguise is they study their shortcoming & workover it. While for SP-BSP this will be signs of good things to come & will only boost their hopes of winning the elections in 2019.